Concepts

Consider this view of a preacher: “When a moral person is confronted with contempt, immorality, disloyalty, or dishonesty, he is so repulsed by the offense that he turns away and in despair closes his heart to the offender. But the miracle of the redemptive reality of God is that the worst and the vilest offender can never exhaust the depths of His love.”

First part of the above statement reflects my own experience; and often I have seen this happenning to most genuine seekers of reality around me. I sometime try to think deeper about this phenomenon to understand why I act in this fashion. I guess the root cause is two folds: fear and weakness arising out of some worldly desires. To the earthly mind that I have today, the contempt, immorality, disloyalty, or dishonesty on someone else’s part towards me is a painful experience that I would not like to be subjected to. My mind, like most of us, too is conditioned to avoid what my mind has come to understand as pain and therefore the fear of the repitition of the painful experience makes me turn away and close my heart to the offender. Now the second factor I guess is more subtle to get. I thought about why we call something as painful or avoidable? When and where did I learn what is pain? Aren’t all these emotions and notions just the concepts that we (or the environment around us) have drilled into my minds? When a man is born into this world then he doesn’t know about all these concepts, all that he cries for in the beginning is only basic needs like food and shelter from heat, cold and bugs. If someone says bad things to him he doesn’t bother; nor does he gets puffed up in pride when someone praised him. Again, this too may just be another concept — what if he understands much more than us but cannot express or is unintetested in anything beyond the basics? Nevertheless, the “common wisdom” says that actually at that time he doesn’t understand these concepts like bad, good pride and so on. What heppens then? I think it’s not difficult to see where from all the wrong things (and occasionally good one too) he comes into learn.

Leave a Reply

