Forgotten and imprefectly learned fact

According to one dictionary the meaning of word “remind” is given as “Assist (somebody acting or reciting) by suggesting the next words or actions of something forgotten or imperfectly learned“. The last part – “… something forgotten or imperfectly learned” – strikes me deeply if I think from spiritual context about the jolts I receive in my worldly associations. To understand His Will, with our limited intellect, seems a complicated thing sometimes – I feel so limited and know nothing! There come situations in my life which remind me again and again that lasting happiness lies only in His Name and not in gaining possessions, positions, praises and materials of this world. Often a displeasing event (usually the displeasure arises when things do not go as ‘I’ expected them to go) forces me to think about this forgotten and imprefectly learned fact. This is where my problem starts. At such a point I ask myself: Through this pain, which is usually attributed to some of my worldly association, is He telling me that I should detach myself from the agents of this pain? Or shall I take this event as His Will and continue to be attached to such agents of pain? Where to draw the line? What is the right thing to do? And I’m lost! There’s fear and lack of courage, perhaps of losing the self, that blanks the mind and creates doubts as in Peter’s mind when he tried to walk on water:

… During the fourth watch of the night Jesus went out to them, walking on the lake. When the disciples saw him walking on the lake, they were terrified. “It’s a ghost,” they said, and cried out in fear.
But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.”
“Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.”
“Come,” he said.
Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”
Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”
 

[Matthew 14 (New International Version)]

Posted in God

Leave a Reply

